Aerospace and Mechanical Engineering
Adjust Font Size: Normal Large X-Large

AEM spotlight:

Garrard honored for excellence in education and research


Prof.Garrard is picture above with Dr. Roger Simpson,
the president of the AIAA.

Professor William Garrard recently received the J. Leland Atwood award at the 45th Aerospace Sciences Meeting and Exhibit in Reno, Nev. This award is jointly sponsored by the American Society for Engineering Education and the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics.

It recognizes recent outstanding educational achievement and strives to encourage innovative improvements in aerospace education. Garrard was specifically honored for: "advancing the discipline of aerospace engineering through effective and creative research, consulting, and for distinguished leadership in the development of enhanced programs of instruction and research."

Department Head Gary Balas called Garrard's contribution to aerospace engineering education "outstanding," noting his consistent involvement in growing K-12 student interest in aerospace research. The award, Balas, said, also recognizes Garrard's contribution to teaching in the Department.

“Professor Garrard has educated and mentored many students who have gone on to make major contributions in the aerospace field,” he said. “He  has also been instrumental in  helping to create a science- and math-based program for aerospace engineers that incorporates computation and experiments into the student   experience.”

December of 2007 marks Garrard’s 40th year in the department of Aerospace Engineering and Mechanics, where he has served the department in various roles – researcher, professor, and as department head for almost 15 years. Garrard now directs the NASA-funded Minnesota Space Grant Consortium, which provides state-based pre-college education and higher educational research opportunities for faculty and students in aerospace science and engineering. He is currently Chair of the National Council of Space Grant Directors which represents all 52 Space Grant Consortia.


Last Modified: Tuesday, 24-Jul-2007 10:10:27 CDT -- this is in International Standard Date and Time Notation