Aerospace and Mechanical Engineering
Adjust Font Size: Normal Large X-Large

Akerman Hangar Honored with 2011 Minneapolis Heritage Preservation Award

The Akerman Hall Hangar Project was honored with the 2011 Minneapolis Heritage Preservation Award on Thursday, May 19th at the International Market Square. The Preserve Minneapolis, the Minneapolis Chapter of the American Institute of Architects, and the Minneapolis Heritage Preservation Commission hosted the event. The award recognizes projects, individuals, and community organizations that celebrate and enhance the heritage and historic character of Minneapolis.

Donna Rosenthal from the Dept. of Aerospace Eng. & Mech., U of MN accepting award from Chad Larson, Chair of the MinneapolisHeritage Preservation Commission

The Akerman Hangar Project was considered a meritorious example of an adaptively reused historic building, transformed and reinvented to incorporate both new and old elements in a way that that is respectful of, but different from, the form of the past. The project team included members from the: Department of Aerospace Engineering and Mechanics, University Capital Planning and Project Management, University Capital Planning and Architecture, BWBR Architects, M. A. Mortenson, Hess, Roise and Company, and Sebesta Blomberg. Winning projects need to demonstrate high standards of sensitivity for returning an existing building or landscape to its original character; reinterpreting or transforming the property in a way that that is respectful of, but different from, the past. Organizations and people that have made an overall contribution to preservation in Minneapolis are also honored. A nine?member panel comprised of three members from each organization juried the awards. Submissions were judged on attention to the quality of design, architecture, workmanship, and materials as well as the positive impact on the surrounding neighborhood and community.

Representative Project Team Members: left to right: Kevin Swanson, M.A.Mortenson; Donna Rosenthal, Dept. of Aerospace Eng & Mech, U of MN; Katherine Leonidas, BWRR Architects; Elizabeth Gales, Hess, Roise and Company. Second row: Matt McReynolds, Sebesta Bloomberg; Pete Nickel,Univ.of MN Capital Planning and Architecture; Jesse Turck, BWBR Architects; John Paul Gille, Paulson & Clark Engineering, Inc; Steve Berg, BWBR Architects. Third row: Greg Fenton, BWBR Architects

Last Modified: Tuesday, 07-Jun-2011 09:25:38 CDT -- this is in International Standard Date and Time Notation