Aerospace and Mechanical Engineering
Adjust Font Size: Normal Large X-Large

Nine AEM Students Received CSE Merit Scholarships

Nine Aerospace Engineering and Mechanics (AEM) students were awarded with College of Science and Engineering (CSE) merit scholarships for their excellent work in the field. Bryce Doerr, Lauren Olsen, Thien-Long Vo and Jakob Hergert all received the Frank Louk Scholarship Endowment; Thomas Georgiou received the E. Reuben & Gladys Flora Grant Scholarship Fund; Daniel Bickelhaupt and Nicholas Sloan received the CSE Student Affairs Scholarship; John Jackson received the Oswald Prize; and Maius Wong received the Dennis R. and Hazel J. Longren Scholarship.

The CSE merit scholarships are awarded to students who have been enrolled in the college for at least three semesters and have grade point averages (GPAs) at or above 3.6. Students were required to submit personal essays discussing their accomplishments and future plans, which were then reviewed and scored by a committee of professional staff, faculty, and alumni.

The Frank Louk scholarship was established by the late Aleyene Louk in furtherance of her strong interest in highest education, and in memory of her late husband, Frank Louk; The E. Reuben & Gladys Flora Grant Scholarship Fund was created in 1992 as a tribute to Elberth Reuben Grant's life work in Civil Engineering; The CSE Student Affairs Scholarship was established through the generous support of corporations and CSE alumni; The Oswald Prize was established by Patricia H. Oswald in honor of her late husband, Albert George Oswald; And the Dennis R. and Hazel J. Longren Scholarship was established by Hazel J. Longren in honor of her late husband, Dennis R. Longren. Each scholarship fund was created to provide financial support for CSE students studying Aerospace Engineering and Mechanics who demonstrate financial need and academic merit.

Last Modified: 2014-10-21 at 12:44:37 -- this is in International Standard Date and Time Notation